MuiscArch’15 // International Architecture Students Workshop

First of all, with a shame, I had no idea about those international workshop before I applied. The reason behind my mind for  consulting is to observe and analyse İstanbul in architectural manner and meeting architecture students all around the world. However, there were more!
This organization was the one of the most fantastic memories of my architectural education life, therefore I waited to share my experiences in a leisure time.

The workshop, – Perceive the City- , aims to the visible and non-visible layers of this continuous physical, social, economical and political transformations on the city through urban experiences of its participants. I was excited to fresh meet the urban concept issues besides having no information about urban design. Therefore, it provided opportunity for me to observe urban analysis.

There were 50 foreign and 10 Turkish architecture students, thus we have 10 groups which stipulate to generate group by 6 different countries. All groups had to reconsider the topics such as Image of the City ( urban perception, urbanites, mental maps) , Glocal ( globalisation, localisation) , Memory ( Collective and Urban memory) , Intra-Urban Boundaries ( Abstract and Concrete Borders,  Social and Spatial Segretiation/ Exclusion) , Transformation ( Urban voids, Squares, Routes, Points of Dispersion). Therefore, all groups focused on those concepts with regarding the same map, Beyoğlu.

The first thing It attracted my attention is that all student use the computer programs fluently and rapid. Revit, Adobe Premiere, Maya and Rhinoceros are the common and mostly used programs which I observed. Then I shocked about neatness of all students, especially boys. (One of the my group friend get angry because I cut the tracing paper with ruler instead of using xacto knife 🙂 Most of the students have over-responsibility, they stayed up all night for each project even if there is no grade, jury or evaluation. The only consideration is to take advantage of fantastic creative atmosphere and enjoy the project.

All those were the cheery experience for me to improve myself and observe where I stand. Final thing is, those architecture students are really aware of those international workshops, all are really nice advantage because the organisations provide all accommodation, meals, transportations. You have a chance to recognise city in terms of architectural properties without any payment.

Organisation committee is still share those international workshops around the world, I will also share with you.

Toodle-oo!
Melis

Bir Cevap Yazın

